The Committee

Committee Members 2022-23

Co-Presidents

Isabel May   George Maddison
president@emmamusic.co.uk

Secretary

Lucy Martin
secretary@emmamusic.co.uk

Treasurer

Gregoire Denjean
treasurer@emmamusic.co.uk

Ents Officer

Daniel Hilton
events@emmamusic.co.uk

Recitals Manager

Emma Jennings
recitals@emmamusic.co.uk

Hires Officers

Lewis Clark   Dom Dakin
hires@emmamusic.co.uk

Publicity Officer

Orla Mair
publicity@emmamusic.co.uk

Webmaster

Lewis Clark
web@emmamusic.co.uk

Flute Choir Leader

Grace Muldowney
gemm3@cam.ac.uk

Chorus Leader

Isabel May
chorus@emmamusic.co.uk

Emma Jazz Leader

Chris Newton
jazz@emmamusic.co.uk

Emma Big Band Leader

James MacConnachie
bigband@emmamusic.co.uk

SECCO Leaders

Orla Mair   George Maddison
orchestra@emmamusic.co.uk

General Members

Aditi Kumar   Jake Moll

Eli Jay  Neil Sardesai

Ex Officio Committee Members

Honorary President and College Master

Doug Chalmers

Doug Chalmers became the 28th Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge on 1 October 2021. He came to the College from Whitehall where he had been the Director of Operations for the Ministry of Defence. Over the years the Army enabled Doug to study the context behind world events, initially through a US advanced studies programme in 1999, from which he graduated with an MA, and subsequently by taking a sabbatical to Cambridge to study International Relations, where he became a member of Trinity Hall. He was awarded an MPhil in 2007. His expertise was in understanding the causes (and perceptions) of tension and the local, regional and international political constraints that surrounded them. For operational service Doug was appointed a Member of the British Empire (MBE) in 2003, promoted to OBE in 2008 and awarded the Distinguished Service Order (DSO) in 2012. In 2021 he was made a Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB) for services to Defence during the COVID pandemic.

As well as being the 28th Master, Doug sits on the management board for the University’s Center for Geopolitics and is the Colonel Commandant of the British Army’s Queens Division.

Acting Director of Music

Dr.Sarah Bendall

asb10@emma.cam.ac.uk

Dr. Bendall read Geography at Jesus College, Oxford, and then became a Librarian, studying for an MA in Librarianship at Sheffield University. She first came to Emmanuel in 1984 to run the college library. After two years, she changed status at Emma and became a research student carrying out research into estate maps of Cambridgeshire (PhD 1989). She was a Fellow 1988-94, pursuing her research interests and then working on college and library history.

After six years at Merton College, Oxford (1994-2000) as a Senior Research Fellow and Librarian, Dr. Bendall returned to Emmanuel as Fellow and Development Director. She is also Fellow Librarian, Fellow Archivist and Curator of the Douglas Finlay Museum of College Life. She is a keen amateur cellist and spends much of her leisure time playing and listening to classical music. At Emmanuel, she is the Fellow responsible for (non-academic) music in College, including oversight of Chapel music and the Music Society.

Acting Director of Chapel Music

Adam Mathias

Adam Mathias is the Acting Director of Chapel Music at Emmanuel, responsible for planning and directing the activities of the Choir and the work of the organ scholars.

Presidents Emeritus

James MacConnachie   Orla Mair

Senior Organ Scholar

Mark Zang

Junior Organ Scholar

George Maddison