The Committee

ECMS 2019-20 Committee

Presidents

Sophie Westbrooke   Henrietta McFarlane
president@emmamusic.co.uk

Secretary

Chloe Crossley
secretary@emmamusic.co.uk

Treasurer

Peter Scott
treasurer@emmamusic.co.uk

Hires Officers

Fernando Georgiou   Peter Scott
hires@emmamusic.co.uk

Publicity Officer

Bethany Thomas
publicity@emmamusic.co.uk

Events Officer

Tuhin Varshneya
events@emmamusic.co.uk

Chorus Rep

Eleanor Reffin
chorus@emmamusic.co.uk

SECCO Rep

Henrietta McFarlane
orchestra@emmamusic.co.uk

Emma Jazz Rep

Tim Davidson
jazz@emmamusic.co.uk

Emma Big Band Rep

Fernando Georgiou
bigband@emmamusic.co.uk

Folk Ensemble Rep

Adina Wineman
folk@emmamusic.co.uk

Stage Manager

Jamie Conway

Ex Officio Committee Members

Honorary President

and College Master

Dame Fiona Reynolds

Dame Fiona's biography is available here.

Director of Music

Dr. Christopher Whitton

clw36@cam.ac.uk

Dr Whitton was educated at St John's College, Cambridge (BA 2002, MPhil 2004, PhD 2007), and as a Kennedy Scholar at Harvard University (2002-3). He came to Emmanuel as Fellow in Classics and Director of Music in 2007, when I was appointed University Lecturer in Classics. In 2012-14 I was an Alexander-von-Humboldt Fellow at the Freie Universität Berlin and Rostock University.

As an organist, singer and choir directed Chris held posts as Winchester College, Grace Cathedral (San Francisco), Harvard Memorial Church, and St. Bartholomew the Great, Smithfield, and spent five years as chorus master of the Cambridge Philharmonic Society. He was Organ Student at St John's College, Cambridge, from 1999-2002, and continues to give occasional recitals today. At Emmanuel, he is the Fellow responsible for (non-academic) music in College, including oversight of Chapel music and the Music Society.

Director of Chapel Music

Mr. Peter Foggit
pif21@cam.ac.uk 

Peter Foggitt is the Director of Chapel Music at Emmanuel, responsible for planning and directing the activities of the Choir and the work of the organ scholars. He was a choral scholar at King’s College, Cambridge, and studied singing and piano at Trinity College of Music and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. He is currently reading for a PhD in Composition.

College Fellow

Dr. Sarah Bendall
asb10@cam.ac.uk

Dr. Bendall's biography is available here.

Presidents Emeritus

Imogen Flower

Now in her final year reading music, Imogen has been heavily involved with ECMS throughout her time at Emmanuel. She has acted as President, Secretary and played recorder as one of the founding members of the North Court Baroque Ensemble. Her involvement in the musical life of the college extended into a role on the May Ball committee in 2015. Imogen loves music by Telemann, Brahms, Joni Mitchell and Radiohead. 

Adam Mathias

Adam has just graduated from his time at Emmanuel reading Music. In 2011-12, he was the Organ Scholar at St. George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle where his roles included training the choristers and accompanying the world-renowned choir in services. He is an Associate of the Royal College of Organists. He has performed as both a soloist and accompanist at venues including St. John's, Smith Square and St. Martin-in-the-Fields. Adam often conducted the ECMS Orchestra, and the College's Chapel Choir.

 

Senior Organ Scholar

Marcus Norrey

Junior Organ Scholar

Mark Zang